Skip to content Skip to footer

Virginia Hit and Run Lawyers

Experienced Attorneys Ready to Fight for You

Hit-and-Run Laws in Virginia – Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Hit-and-Run laws are very serious in Virginia and could come with severe consequences, including a felony or misdemeanor conviction, jail time, required restitution payments, and probation.  Police officers and prosecutors are very aggressive when it comes to charging and prosecuting hit-and-run charges.  It is critical that you have a skilled and experienced Virginia criminal traffic lawyer to guide you through the court process and fight your case to win.  

What Should You Do If You Are Under Investigation for Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

If you believe that you are being investigated for a Hit-and-Run charge, do not answer any questions from the police without a lawyer.  To prove any charge of leaving the scene of an accident, prosecutors must prove the identity of the driver.  This is often difficult to do without a confession, and police and prosecutors rely on suspects making the mistake of making incriminating statements to officers.  

If you are contacted by law enforcement in relation to a Hit-and-Run charge, contact a lawyer immediately.  An attorney will help give you the advice to avoid being charged or successfully fight a conviction in court.  

Virginia Hit-and-Run Penalties

Class 5 Felony – if the accident results in the death or injury of someone involved in the accident, or more than $1,000 of damage in attended property.  Maximum 10 years in prison.

Class 1 Misdemeanor – if the accident results in less than $1,000 in damage.  Maximum 12 months in jail, $2,500 fine.

Class 4 Misdemeanor – if the accident involved an unattended vehicle and the damage was less than $250.  Maximum $250 penalty.  However, this will still show up as a criminal conviction even though jail is not possible.  

Virginia law requires that after any car accident, regardless of who is at fault, both drivers are required to do the following:

  • Stop as close to the accident as possible without obstructing traffic.
  • Provide the following information:
  1. Name
  2. Address
  3. Vehicle registration information
  • This information must be given to one of the following persons:
  1. A police officer.
  2. The driver of the other vehicle if that person is able to receive such information.
  3. A passenger of the other vehicle if the driver is unable to receive such information.
  • If a driver is injured as a result of the accident and cannot give this information to any of the people above because of their injuries, they are required to contact law enforcement as soon as possible and make a reasonable effort to locate the other person involved in the accident.

Virginia criminal attorney Jonathan R. Oates has successfully defended and represented clients facing Hit-and-Run charges in Virginia. Oates has helped many clients receive complete exonerations and not guilty verdicts of their Hit-and-Run charges in front of judges and juries. Each case was very different, requiring a unique strategy and outlook.   Your case and your situation are no different.  You need and deserve a top-rated defense.  We can help.

Call (703) 988-3711 or email us today to schedule a free consultation about your Virginia Hit-and-Run case and learn how we can help.   

Look for counsel?

Contact Us