Workers' Compensation and Work-Related Injuries
Experienced Attorneys Ready to Fight for You
Injured on the Job? Don't Settle. Contact us Today.
If you have suffered from a work-related injury you may be entitled to compensation under Maryland’s Workers’ Compensation Law. This compensation includes payment for lost wages and medical expenses which are connected to the work-related injury sustained. You are not required to prove that the employer was negligent. Rather, so long as the injury was work-related and notice and claims are filed appropriately, you should obtain your workers’ compensation benefits.
Under Maryland law generally, every employer is required to carry workers’ compensation insurance. This insurance covers the cost to pay for injuries suffered by employees. Where someone has unconventional employment; however, it is not always clear whether the employee is covered under the Workers’ Compensation Act. The intrepid attorneys at Krum, Gergely & Oats, LLC can help you determine if you are qualified for coverage and will help you file your claim for benefits.
Types of Claims & Time Limits
You must notify the employer of the injury within 10 days of the date of injury and notify the Workers’ Compensation Claim Commission (Commission) within 60 days after the date of the injury (failure to do so may be excused), but no later than 2 years (failure to do so will not excuse).
You must notify the insurer within 1 year after the employee “knows or has reason to know he or she is suffering from an occupational disease.” Failure to do so may bar you from compensation. You must also notify the Commission within 2 years “from the date of disablement or the date when the employee first had actual knowledge that the disablement was caused by the employer.
If death is the result of accidental injury, notice must be provided to the employer within 30 days of the death; if death is the result of occupational disease, notice must be provided to the employer within 1 year of the death.
The claim form to initiate a claim request with the Commission must be filed within 2 years of the accident.
The notice and claim filing time limits are critical and failure to adhere to the time limits may bar recovery. It is important to contact a lawyer immediately if you or a loved one has suffered a work-related injury.